Ceilidh Area is the northern most point of our province, also known as Cape Breton Island.

The island is divided into four provincial counties: Cape Breton, Victoria and Richmond and Inverness which includes five reserves of the Mi'kmag Nations: Eskasoni, Membertou, Wagmatcook, Waycobah and Potlotek/Chapel Island.

Ceilidh Area has four Guiding Districts covering the general locations of

  • Cairdeas DS: Port Hawkesbury, St. Peters and Louisdale
  • Coastal DS: New Waterford, Louisbourg, Dominion, Port Morien and Glace Bay
  • Ocean View DS: The North Side, Sydney River, Sydney Forks, Westmount, Coxheath and Big Pond
  • Two Rivers DS: Sydney & Marion Bridge

The Area is managed by a group of dedicated volunteers who provide programming for girls and adult leadership and training opportunities.

Area Contacts

  • Area Co-Commissioners: Elizabeth Buffett & Gail Leighton at ns-ceilidhac@girlguides.ca
  • Secretary: Rachel Doucette at rmdoucette1@hotmail.com
  • Deputy Commissioner: Carolyn MacLeod at tccmacleod@gmail.com
  • Freda Potter at potterg_f@hotmail.com
  • PR Rep: Karla Bray at karla.bray1@gmail.com

Volunteer Opportunities

We are currently looking for new Guiders to help with units at all levels! Please contact one of our commissioners.

Area Council Positions Needed:

  • Area International Advisor
9/26/2023 2:13:22 AM