Overview

This FAQ provides information about Member Zone, Girl Guides of Canada's website for adult members, bridging members and Rangers.

Q. What is Member Zone?

A. Member Zone is a website for adult members, bridging members and Rangers. It is password protected site where Guiding resources, membership profile information and unit rosters (for adult members only) are available.

Q. Who can access Member Zone?

A. Active adult members, bridging members and Rangers can access Member Zone using their member (iMIS) ID number.

Q. Can volunteer applicants access Member Zone?

A. An applicant who has started the screening process (as potential member) can access Member Zone.

Member Account and Sign-In

Q. How do I sign in?

A. Sign in with your member (iMIS) ID number as your username (not an email address). If you are not sure about your member ID number or password, use the Forgot My Membership Number or Forgot My Password link to request it.

Q. I’m a new user, how do I sign in?

A. If you have never used Member Zone before, click First time users – activate your account on the sign-in page and enter your member ID and email to activate your account.

Q. I haven’t received the password or username email, how long should I wait?

A. The email for password and username requests is sent immediately after the request is submitted. Check the spam or junk folder in your email account if you do not see the message in your inbox.

Q. I haven’t received the password reset or username email, and I’ve checked may spam/junk folder. What should I do?

A. To ensure email delivery, add the email donotreply@email.girlguides.ca to your email account's address book before you make a password or username request. If you submitted a request and still cannot find the message, please contact MembershipSystems@girlguides.ca.

Q. How do I change my password?

A. There are two ways to change your password:

  1. If you are unable to login to Member Zone, on the sign-in page click Forgot my password to request a password reset email.
  2. If you are able to login to Member Zone, click My Profile in the top right corner to find the Change Password option.

IMPORTANT! You must enter a password that is at least 12 characters long and that contains an upper-case letter, a lower-case letter, a number and one symbol/special character.

Q. Can I use the same login account for other GGC websites?

A. Yes and no. Member Zone and the girl registration websites use the same login.
  
The program platform and online store websites have different logins. Please visit those websites for information on how to log into them.

Q. I'm an iMIS staff user, how should I login?

A. If you are an iMIS user who accesses the iMIS Staff Site to view or update records, log in to Member Zone with your iMIS username credentials not your membership ID number.

Inside Member Zone

Q. How do I see and update my membership profile?

A. Adult members: Select My Profile at the top right corner of the screen to view your Guiding record, update your contact info or re-attest to the Code of Conduct.

Rangers and Bridging members: Click My Profile at the top right corner of the screen to see your Guiding record and contact info. For legal reasons, your parent/guardian must update update the info if needed. Ask your parent/guardian to log into the registration website and click the pencil icon beside your name to edit the info.

Q. How do I update my police records check (PRC)?

A. PRCs cannot be updated through Member Zone. Contact screening@girlguides.ca to find out where to get a PRC or where to submit the results and have your membership profile updated.

Q. What is a unit roster?

A. A unit roster is a list of members in a unit which includes the girls' and adults' names, contact information and other details that a Guider needs to know to effectively run unit activities. Only adult members can see unit rosters.

The unit roster does not include information from girls’ health forms (e.g. allergies, medications). The health forms for tracking this information are available on the Safe Guide Forms page.

Q. Can I share the information on a unit roster?

A. The information on rosters should only be used for the purpose for which is was collected – to contact Guiders, Unit Assistants, and/or girls’ parents/guardians about unit activities. This requirement is a component if GGC’s privacy policy and privacy statement, and governed by privacy legislation. To support this, here are some do’s and don’ts regarding the information about girls and their families:

  • Do use the BCC (blind copy) box for group emails to avoid sharing individual’s email addresses
  • Unit rosters should not be distributed; adult Members of the unit have access to view it themselves in Member Zone.
  • Do not use information from unit rosters for personal purposes (i.e. inviting parents/guardians to a social event outside of Guiding)
  • Do not use it to invite members or parents/guardians to personal social media pages (i.e. Facebook or LinkedIn)
  • Review the best practices and tips for sending emails found in CASL Overview and Best Practices Tips
  • Review Privacy Breach Procedures for tips on storing, transporting, and managing personal information.

Q. How can I take GGC trainings?

A. Training resources and information including where to take courses are available on Member Zone. The main Training page is a good place to start.

Q. Where can I find info about Safe Guide?

A. Find Safe Guide info on the Safe Guide page.

Troubleshooting

Q. I'm getting server or system error, what do I do?

A. Most system errors may be resolved by refreshing the browser page. Quick hard refresh can be done by using the following short cut keys depending on which browser and computer:

In Windows

Chrome, Edge, Internet Explorer

  1. Hold down Ctrl and click the Reload button.
  2. Or, Hold down Ctrl and press F5.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Hold down Ctrl and press F5.
  2. Or, hold down Ctrl and ⇧ Shift and then press R.

In Mac/Apple

Safari

  1. Hold ⇧ Shift and click Refresh button in Safari.
  2. Or press ⌘ Cmd and ⌥ Option key then press R.

Chrome, Mozilla Firefox

  1. Hold ⇧ Shift and click the Reload button.
  2. Or, hold down ⌘ Cmd and ⇧ Shift key and then press R.

Q. I did hard refresh in the browser and I'm still getting error. What else can I do?

A. When hard refresh isn't enough, try to clear the browser history. Below is a step by step guide in clearing the history of different browsers:

Chrome

  1. Click the three dots in the upper right corner of the browser, then click History.
  2. In the left hand side, under History, click Clear browsing data.
  3. Select the Time range and the items you want to clear (eg., Browsing history, Cookies) you might not want to clear your Passwords so skip that item.
  4. Click Clear browsing data.

Edge

  1. Click the three dots in the upper right corner of the browser, then click History.
  2. Under Clear Browsing Data select the Time range and the items you want to clear (eg., Browsing history, Cookies) you might not want to clear your Passwords so skip that item.
  3. Click Clear now.

Firefox

  1. Click the hamburger menu in the upper right corner of the browser.
  2. Click Preferences (Mac) or Options (Windows).
  3. Click Privacy in the left menu bar.
  4. Click Clear Your Recent History.
  5. From the Time range to clear: drop-down menu, select the desired range; to clear your entire cache, select Everything.
  6. Click the down arrow next to "Details" to choose which elements of the history to clear.
  7. Select Browsing & Download History, Form & Search History, Cookies, Cache and Active Logins.
  8. Click Clear now.

Internet Explorer

  1. Click Tools, and select Delete Browsing History...
  2. Deselect Preserve Favorites website data, and select Temporary Internet files, Cookies, and History.
  3. Click Delete.

Safari in Mac/Apple

  1. On the Safari app, choose History > Clear History, then click the pop-up menu.
  2. Choose how far back you want your browsing history cleared.

In iPhone

  1. Go to Settings > Safari, and tap Clear History and Website Data.
  2. Confirm deleting your history, cookies and other browsing data.

In Android

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Chrome app.
  2. At the top right, tap More. History.
  3. Tap Clear browsing data.
  4. Next to 'Time range', select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, tap All time.
  5. Check 'Browsing history'. Untick any other data that you don't want to delete.
  6. Tap Clear data.

Have technical support questions? Contact MembershipSystems@girlguides.ca.

Have other questions? Contact info@girlguides.ca.