About Parkland Area

The first records of Guiding in our Area are companies in Olds and Coronation in 1914.

In 1936 the Red Deer Division extended southward to Olds, northward to include Lacombe, westward to Rocky Mountain House and eastward to Delburne and Elnora - much of what is the Parkland Area today.

In 1946 and 1955 Lady Baden-Powell came to Red Deer for a visit.

Parkland Area was formed in 1964. Mary Beatty was the first Area Commissioner. Following her were Peggy Godkin, Edna Short, Ada Wheeler, Janet Walter, Lorna Watkinson-Zimmer, Gail Richardson, Henny Smit-Nielsen, Lorie Coghill, Linda Sills-Fiedler, Nyna Marr, Rose Ward, and presently Denise Cruz.

By 1976 Parkland Area had five Divisions: Red Deer, Mountain View, Golden West, Blue Spruce and Diamond Willow.

By 2007, there were no more Divisions, but instead districts were merged and new boundaries were formed for each.

Currently Parkland Area consists of 8 Districts – Wolf Willow, Diamond Willow, Crimson Star, Westview, Kuusamo, Golden Poplar, Num Ti Jah, and Goldenfields. Our area extends from Airdrie in the south to Camrose in the North, Banff / Jasper National Parks borders in the West to Coronation in the East.

Resource: A History of Girl Guides Parkland Area available at the store.

About Parkland Districts

List of District names, encompassing towns and District Commissioners as per below.

Crimson Star (City of Red Deer, Delburne)
Jamie Hansen

Diamond Willow (Lacombe, Blackfalds, east to Coronation, Brownfield)
Alicya Bittorf

Goldenfields /strong> (Airdrie, Crossfield, Balzac, Water Valley)
Jodi Paulgaard

Golden Poplar (Innisfail, Caroline, Penhold, Lousana)
Judy Purcell

Kuusamo (Sylvan Lake, Bently, Eckville)
Jessica Poteur

Num Ti Jah (Olds, Sundre, Trochu, Three Hills, Didsbury, Carstairs, Bowden)
Linda Reade, Community contact

Westview (Rocky Mountain House, Leslieville)
Debra Wynn

Wolf Willow (Ponoka, Rimbey, Camrose, Morningside)
Ina Roddenburg-Hart

Parkland Area Awards

Nominate a great Guider, youth or friend of Guiding for an award and recognize the awesome people that make Girl Guiding in your community amazing.

Not sure where to start?

  1. Explore the Alberta Girl Guides Awards page
  2. Explore the National Girl Greatness Awards
  3. Check out the Parkland Area Youth Service Award for guiding members aged 14 to 18
  4. Talk to your District Commissioner
  5. Talk to your Area Awards Lead, Amy Jesse

Awards can be presented any time throughout the year- at a district event for example. For presentation at the Annual Area Leader Banquet, nominations must be received at Area Office by March 1st of any year. Please submit nominations early as approval takes time.

Parkland Area hosts a ceremony to present these awards every Spring. If you have any questions about the ceremony, or these awards, please contact Parkland Area Program Advisor, Kim Flinn.

For more information on Awards please contact the Area Awards Lead, Rose Ward

No content found

8/17/2022 2:39:29 AM